Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Innovator Awards

Grants to USA, Canada, and International Investigators
for Innovative Research on Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Kenneth Rainin Foundation

LOI Date:


Deadline Date:

06/07/19 5:00 PM PST


Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA, Canada, and International investigators affiliated with nonprofit and for-profit research institutions, medical centers, and universities to support high-risk research on inflammatory bowel disease. LOIs must be submitted to start the application process. This program challenges investigators to push boundaries to further the goal of preventing and predicting inflammatory bowel disease.

Through the Innovator Awards, the Foundation invests in new and veteran IBD researchers and embraces novel, untested ideas. Funding interests span the spectrum of basic, translational, and clinical science. The Foundation believes substantive collaboration provides the best approach to accelerating the understanding of IBD and improving patient care.

To date, the Foundation has funded the following areas through Innovator Awards:
-Diet and Nutrition
-Epithelial Cell/Molecular Biology
-Fecal Microbiota Transplant
-Immunity and Inflammation
-Therapeutic Development and Delivery

Funding criteria include:
-Scientific merit
-Strong evidence of collaboration
-Investigator capability to execute project

Basic Science: If your research proposal is rooted in basic science, we encourage you to collaborate with investigators who can further the potential for translation of your ideas and findings.

Translational Science: If your research proposal is translational by nature, we encourage you to identify industry and clinical partners to assist in propelling your research toward clinical study.

Clinical Science: If you are looking to submit a clinical research proposal, we encourage you to collaborate with individuals who could facilitate potential clinical implementation.

Grant recipients are required to attend the Foundation’s annual Innovations Symposium, and may be required to present their work to the general attendees. Grantees are invited to bring a trainee who is working on the project to the Symposium. The annual Innovations Symposium is a two to three-day meeting held each year in July. The 2019 Symposium will be held in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Travel costs to attend the Rainin Foundation’s annual meeting must be included in the proposal budget. A portion of the grant may be budgeted for travel to the annual meeting. Eligible costs include: Economy/coach airfare and other transportation. The Rainin Foundation will host hotel expenses for grantees. Innovator Award funding cannot be used to cover travel to attend other scientific meetings.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 182892

Estimated Size of Grant:

The Innovator Award is for a maximum of $200,000. The budget must reflect the total amount requested, up to $200,000, which may include up to 10% for indirect costs.

Principal Investigator Salary:
The maximum amount allowed for the Principal Investigator’s salary is $10,000 USD. If co-investigator(s) are listed on the proposal, the maximum salary support for all Investigators is $20,000 total. This maximum value does not apply to other research personnel (e.g. post-doctoral fellows, research associates, students) to be funded by the award.

Indirect Costs:
The maximum indirect costs (overhead) that can be requested are 10% of total direct costs. Once a grant has been awarded, funds cannot be transferred out of direct costs to cover indirect or overhead costs, even if the indirect cost was less than the maximum allowed.

A maximum of $2,000 USD can be budgeted for travel to the annual Rainin Foundation symposium. Eligible costs include: Economy/coach airfare and other transportation. The Rainin Foundation will host hotel expenses for grantees and a trainee.

Term of Contract:

The Innovator Awards program provides grants for one-year research projects. Recipients who demonstrate significant progress may receive up to two additional years of support.

The grant period is October 1, 2019 – September 30, 2020.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Researchers from any scientific discipline worldwide are eligible for funding. Typically, the researchers funded hold advanced degrees (MD, PhD or the equivalent) and academic positions at universities, medical centers or research institutions. Innovator Awards may have only one principal investigator, and funding is awarded to their home institution; however, additional investigators may be listed as co-investigators.

Eligible Institutions:
All non-profit institutions that are invited to submit a full proposal must provide evidence of tax exempt 501(c)3 status and must be classified as “not a private foundation” under Section 509(a)(3).

Non-profit institutions outside of the United States will be required to undergo Equivalency Determination with NGOsource if awarded funding.

For-profit institutions must demonstrate that their proposed project furthers the Foundation’s charitable mission of promoting scientific and medical research. The Foundation may upon occasion make grants to government and public agencies, as well as to independent projects that have a qualified tax-exempt fiscal sponsor.

Pre-Application Information:

All grant application materials must be submitted using the Foundation’s online application system, which is open only during the grant submission window.

Letters of Inquiry are available February 4 and must be submitted by March 15, 2019, 5:00 PM PST.

Full proposals are by invitation only and consist of an expanded description of project objectives, methodologies and milestones to test the innovative idea, project budget, and disclosure of other financial support. Please download the Innovator Award Budget Template to submit with your proposal.

2019 Innovator Awards Deadlines:
- Letter of Inquiry: Opens February 4 and closes March 15, 2019 at 5:00 PM (PST)
- Notification of Letter of Inquiry Status: April 2019
- Full Proposal (by invitation only): Due May 31, 2019 by 5:00 PM (PST)
- Awards Announcement: August 2019
- Grant Period: October 1, 2019 – September 30, 2020


Awards Calendar:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

To apply:

For questions about the Innovator Awards program, contact:
Laura Wilson, PhD, Director

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.